I pushed on Git and somehow the updated person of all commits changed to me.

On Backlog, the updated person of commits on Git will be determined by the following order:

  • if the Author of the commit is the same as Backlog user, the user's name will be shown
  • if the Author's email address is the same as Backlog user, the user's name will be shown
  • if none of the above applies, the user's name who pushed the commit will be shown

In the cases like moving commits from other repository when there are no users on Backlog, the updated person would be changed all to a specific user.

To avoid this, we recommend to set Backlog's user names and email addresses in the following settings:

$ git config --global user.name <your name>
$ git config --global user.email <your email address>

Back to list